Author Topic: Kim Scipes  (Read 2337 times)

Kim Scipes

• Offline Offline
Kim Scipes
« on: May 09, 2007, 11:19:10 AM »
Hello, Folks--

My name is Kim Scipes, and I just joined the List.

Some of you know me (or of my writings), but for those who don't, I'm a long-time labor activist, who has been active on both international and national labor issues (as well as other things).  I'm a vet, having spent four years in the USMC, from 1969-73, although staying in the States all four years.  I have been a member of three unions in the past--the Graphic Communications International Union, the National Education Association, and the American Federation of Teachers.  I'm currently a member of the National Writers Union.  I have been politically active since 1971, and joined the labor movement in 1981:  I have been writing since 1984.

I've been active in a number of projects over the years.  I was with the Plant Closures Project from 1983-89, fighting against plant closures and economic dislocation in the SF Bay Area.  And for 13 months in 2002-03, I was the Executive Director of The Calumet Project, a labor-church-community coalition, fighting economic dislocation and ecological devastation in Northwest Indiana.  I have been a long-time opponent of the AFL-CIO's foreign policy program, and am one of the founding members of the Worker to Worker Solidarity Committee (http://www.workertoworker.net ).

I work as an Assistant Professor of Sociology at Purdue University North Central in Westville, Indiana, although I live in Chicago.