Author Topic: Richard Negri / Union Review  (Read 2221 times)

Unionreview.com

• Offline Offline
    • http://www.unionreview.com
Richard Negri / Union Review
« on: July 28, 2007, 12:12:41 AM »
Hello Friends,

My name is Richard Negri. I am a freelance writer, web consultant for unions and rank-and-file members, as well as a union activist. I am a member of the National Writers Union UAW Local 1981 and the Freelancers Union, and I am the founder/publisher of Union Review (http://www.unionreview.com), a site with a mission to provide an online venue to share labor related news and opinions.

I started Union Review in 2005 following the AFL-CIO split. The site sat stagnant for a while and was revived and brought to its current format in late April of this year.

Aside from the last 10 years as a freelancer, I worked a variety of jobs. I loaded trailers for UPS, drove a small fish truck for a while, had a stint as a stage hand (which I was not very good at), and worked in sales and marketing before becoming a journalist. All the while I held a second life in the arts. I am a bass player and performance poet. In that world I have a book of poems published and two CDs of spoken-word and original jazz that I co-wrote with Mr. Howard Mall. My life in the arts is somewhat explained at a site aptly titled: http://www.richardnegri.com and myspace.com/jazzypoet.

At the last leg of my sales and marketing career I worked at the Village Voice. I was elected to be shop steward of my division and became very active in UAW Local 2110. After leaving the Voice I did a great deal of volunteer work with Local 32BJ and three different Teamster locals in NYC.

As a journalist I worked with Reuters, the AP, Employment Review Magazine, theWhiz.com (folded), and eventually became a senior managing editor at an ABC-TV News affiliate based in Miami, Florida. (I worked on the station's web presence and doubled as assignment / desk ed).